Live Music: The Mike Strauss Band

The Mike Strauss Band has existed in various forms over the years. A work in progress, perhaps? Perhaps.

I guess you could say that everything begins with Mike. As a songwriter, singer and guitarist his songs, singing and guitar playing establish the outlines that the group embellish, color and sometimes re-shape. It could be country, but it's not quite country. It could be blues, but it's not quite blues. Not quite rock, folk or jazz  either. Somehow the group manages to live both in and outside of the "Americana" umbrella that these styles inform. Rollick n' Roll? Rhythm n' Rues? Perhaps.

At one time consisting of seven (maybe eight?) members spread out on the main stage or crammed in the corner, the current line-up consists of six individuals. Pretty much from the beginning (or at least the recorded history of the group that starts in Charlotte, NC around 2004 with a cd called "Gone Electric") Jon Schigoda has been playing the upright bass in the band. Randolph Lewis contributed his unique brand of electric guitar playing (which includes a custom tuning and extensive use of the Bigsby Palm Pedal string bending mechanism) to the second cd ("How in The World") in 2005 and became a regular performer with the band shorty thereafter. Randolph convinced his former band mate (in the bands Come On Thunderchild and Les Dirt Clods) ,drummer David "DK" Kim, to join the group starting with the third cd "After All" in 2007. By the time the group recorded it's fourth cd in 2010 ("Ideal Road") the trombone playing of Molly Jay had become a big factor in the band's sound. During that cd and the one that followed (2011's "Crooked Heart") the band also included Beth Brown Al-Rawi on fiddle and Donovan Collins on keyboards. When the group began work on it's most recent recording ("The Whole Skinny" slated to be released in early 2014) Beth and Donovan had exited the group and trumpeter Matt Postle had joined. The current line-up with Mike, Jon, Randolph,  DK, Molly and Matt continues the musical adventure and expects to be an exciting chapter to the already ten year long journey of this group of music makers.

Live Music: Kevin Marshall and the J-Walkers

Singer/songwriter Kevin Marshall is the founder and bandleader of The J-Walkers. He was a founder and front man for a popular Charlotte NC based band The Wax Gurus. The Wax Gurus enjoyed the success of their record "Burning Sky" recorded with local producer Jamie Hoover in 2002. Since then Kevin Marshall has established himself in the regional songwriting community. Gigi Dover And The Big Love recorded a song written by Kevin titled "A Better Place". You can find that cut on their record "The Avocado Sessions". A VA based band Sparks Will Fly recorded a song titled "So Bad" written by Kevin Marshall as well as local artist covering his songs. He has been writing, producing and recording for many years. After all these years since his last record with The Wax Gurus he decided to do it again.  "Am I Missing Something" was co-produced with Eric Lovell at The Blu Bubble Studio in Charlotte NC. It was released in October of 2015. The sound on the record is best described as a mix of genres and eras, along with a blend of musical influences with a common thread throughout.

The current line up of The J-Walkers consist of some of Charlotte NC's top studio and stage musicians; Eric Lovell, Gigi Dover, Matthew Carter, Mike Bader and Tim McDonnell. Along with the best support team we could ask for. Shane Combs and Wes Cobb of WestArtVideo.
The crowd response to the material from the record and the latest material for the new record has been incredible and very heart warming to say the least. We appreciate our fans and look forward to seeing each and everyone of you at our shows

Open Mic Night with Lisa De Novo

Bring your instruments and original music, and show Plaza Midwood what you've got!

Open Mic Night with Lisa De Novo

Sign ups at 6:30pm

Open Mic 7-9pm

All originals
10-15 minute sets
Bring your instruments

Featured act After The Rain will perform at 8pm.